Bishop Kiesey assigned to Michigan


Bishop Deborah Lieder Kiesey
View an interview where she shares her vision for church vitality and  more.  



AKRON, OHIO -- The North Central Jurisdiction Committee on Episcopacy announced today (Thursday, July 19) that Dakotas Area Bishop Deborah Lieder Kiesey has been assigned to serve as the resident bishop in the Michigan Area, effective September 1, 2012. Kiesey follows Bishop Jonathan D. Keaton, who was assigned to the Illinois Area, which contains the Illinois-Great Rivers Conference. Keaton has served the Michigan Area, which consists of the Detroit and West Michigan Conferences, since 2004. 
Kiesey was elected to the episcopacy in 2004 and appointed to the Dakotas Area. Prior to her election, she served three years as superintendent of the Waterloo District in the Iowa Conference. Kiesey served Richland/Ollie UMCs. Washington UMC, Mt. Pleasant UMC, and Iowa City UMC before being selected to serve as a superintendent. She also served as a delegate to General Conference in 1988, 1992, 1996, 2000, and 2004, and was the first-elected clergy from the Iowa Conference on four occasions. 
Kiesey attended Morningside College in Sioux City, Iowa, where she graduated with honors in 1973 with a double major in Religion and Piano Performance. She was named Outstanding Alumna of the Year for Morningside College in 2004. She first felt a calling to the ordained ministry while a student at Boston University School of Theology and earned her Masters of Divinity degree there in 1976. 
Upon her return to Iowa, she married D. Bradley Kiesey, an attorney from Washington, Iowa. They have been blessed with two adult sons, Joel and Aaron.
Kiesey was ordained Deacon in 1974 and Elder in 1977. 
Kiesey is the second consecutive experienced bishop to be assigned to the Michigan Area. Prior to Keaton coming to Michigan in 2004, every bishop appointed to the area since the creation of The United Methodist Church in 1969 had been a bishop in his/her first episcopal assignment. 
Keaton will serve the remaining four years of his episcopal tenure in the Illinois Area, where he follows Bishop Gregory Palmer. Keaton expects to retire in 2016.
Two gatherings have been scheduled to celebrate the ministry of Bishop Keaton in the Michigan Area. On Saturday, Aug. 25, a reception will take place from 1:00-4:00 p.m. at St. Ignace UMC in St. Ignace, Mich., while on Sunday, Aug. 26, a celebration will be held from 4:00-8:00 p.m. at Redeemer UMC in DeWitt, Mich.
Welcome celebrations for Bishop Kiesey are tentatively scheduled for Saturday-Sunday, Oct. 13-14. More information about the locations and times of the gatherings will be available in the near future. 
Michigan Bishops*
Dwight Loder, 1969-1976
Edsel A. Ammons, 1976-1984
Judith Craig, 1984-1992
Donald A. Ott, 1992-2000
Linda Lee, 2000-2004
Jonathan D. Keaton, 2004-2012
Deborah Lieder Kiesey, 2012-
*Since the United Methodist Church began in 1968.
The jurisdictional episcopacy committee also announced the assignments for the jurisdiction's other bishops. Bishop Michael Coyner (Indiana Area) and Bishop John Hopkins (Ohio East Area) will serve third terms in their respective areas, while Bishop Julius Trimble will remain in the Iowa Area for a second term. Bishop Sally Dyck will move to the Chicago Area (Northern Illinois Conference) after serving two terms in the Minnesota Area, while Bishop Hee-Soo Jung will relocate to the Wisconsin Area after two terms in the Chicago Area. Bishop Bruce Ough, who served three terms in the Ohio West Area, will serve the newly created Dakotas-Minnesota Area, while Bishop Palmer, after one term in the Illinois Area (Illinois-Great Rivers Conference), will move to the Ohio West Area. 
The jurisdictional conference did not elect a bishop this year due to the reduction of an episcopal area. The Dakotas and Minnesota Areas were combined to form a single Dakotas-Minnesota Area. Only one bishop, Wisconsin Area Bishop Linda Lee, is retiring, leaving nine active bishops to be assigned to nine episcopal areas.
The episcopal announcements were one of the main items of business for the 2012 North Central Jurisdictional Conference, a quadrennial gathering of United Methodists from Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, and Wisconsin. Over 220 delegates from 11 conferences are attending the event, which is being held at the John. S. Knight Center in downtown Akron.
~reported by Paul Thomas, Director of Communications, Detroit Conference


1. Scott Manning wrote on 7/24/2012 11:18:49 PM
A needed correction to your article. The United Methodist Church was created through merger in 1968, not 1969.
West Michigan Conference, United Methodist Church 11 Fuller SE, PO Box 6247, Grand Rapids, MI 49516-6247 | 616-459-4503 | | site by BRT